Beethoven String Quartets: Part V

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

1941 Broadway
New York, NY 10023

Alice Tully Hall

(212) 875-5788



Event Dates

Feb 16, 2020



Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Ludwig van Beethoven literally changed the course of music—not only how music sounded, but how it was performed, listened to, and used in society. Beethoven’s 16 string quartets, composed in groups corresponding to his early, middle, and late periods, leap from one level of sophistication to the next. They tell the complete story of one of history’s greatest artists, a composer possessed of an inexplicable, cosmic genius whose work continues to transcend the confines of era, style, or nationality. The Danish String Quartet performs the quartets in the order that Beethoven composed them, between 1798 and 1826. Join us for one of music’s incomparable journeys. Join us for a pre-concert lecture with David Finckel at 4:00 PM in the Rose Studio. Tickets ($15) available for purchase by concert ticket-holders only by calling the ticketing office at 212-875-5788. Program: - Beethoven Quartet in A minor for Strings, Op. 132 (1825) - Beethoven Quartet in B-flat major for Strings, Op. 130 (1825) - Beethoven Quartet for Strings, Op. 133, "Grosse Fuge" (1825)