1891: Brahms's Clarinet Quintet

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

1941 Broadway
New York, NY 10023

Alice Tully Hall

(212) 875-5788



Event Dates

Nov 19, 2019



Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Before his death in 1897, Johannes Brahms memorialized his cherished, fast-disappearing Old World in works of breathtaking tenderness and profundity. Moved by the serene purity of the clarinet, he created a quintet for the ages, a heart-rending epitaph for himself and the 19th century combined. Schubert’s similar Fantasie, composed in the autumn of his life, and Schumann’s emotional Dichterliebe build a nostalgic musical path to Brahms’s late masterpiece. Program: - Schubert Fantasie in F minor for Piano, Four Hands, D. 940, Op. 103 (1828) - Schumann Dichterliebe for Voice and Piano, Op. 48 (1840) - Brahms Quintet in B minor for Clarinet, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 115 (1891)